PokaYoke

I forgot what site I got this from, but it’s a term I heard from a friend who took up Industrial Engineering (IE).

The term “PokaYoke” was popularised by Shigeo Shingo through his book “Zero Quality Control: Source Inspection and the PokaYoke System”. Shingo points out that mistakes will always be made (we’re only human after all!), but if PokaYoke’s are implemented then mistakes can be prevented from becoming defects (mistakes that reach the customer).

Most often these Pokayoke’s or fail-safe devises are very simple and often inexpensive visual prompts that prevents the defect in the product occurring. Either the operator is alerted that a mistake is about to be made, or the device actually prevents the mistake from being made. The important point of these types of mechanisms is that 100% of the parts are checked without the need for concentration from the operator.

Comfortable Being Uncomfortable

It’s been two months now since I started working where I am. But it has felt like a year has gone by. I’ve hardly had any time for this blog. So it is time to spruce it up a bit.

I am currently a trainee in the company, and it’s a lot like being a rookie in a sports team. I get to do all the stuff that other players don’t enjoy doing. My boss tells me to be patient and just stick it out. Everyone has to start at the bottom right?

So I am trying to absorb everything I can and feel things out, if this is the best profession for me. I want to find out if this is just a ‘blip’ in my resume, just like my very first job in a construction company, or if this is what I am going to do for the rest of my life.

Somehow, a part of me feels that it isn’t. But we shouldn’t always trust in our feelings. We should put our faith in God. For He knows what we will eventually become. So I’d rather be in the center of His will for my life, than be in the center of my will for my life. I have a tendency to mess things up =)